Council members

There are seven members of Council. Three of these are elected by veterinarians. Two are lay people appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries. One member is a veterinarian also appointed by the Minister. The seventh member is the Academic Programme Director of the undergraduate veterinary programme at Massey University.

Dr Lindsay Burton (Ministerial appointed veterinarian and Deputy Chair)
Dr Lindsay Burton was appointed as a veterinary member of Council by the Minister for Primary Industries in May 2015.
Lindsay is General Manager, Veterinary Technical and Risk Management at Fonterra.
Lindsay graduated with a BVSc from Massey University in 1975 and spent five years in mixed animal practice. He joined the NZ Dairy Board in 1980, involved in animal breeding. This was followed by a period as Principal Veterinarian at Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC). Additional roles included the Director of National Animal Identification and Traceability, Principal Scientist Johne's Disease Research Consortium, and Chair of the MPI Farm to Processor Animal Welfare Forum.
Lindsay has extensive experience and expertise in science based decision making. He is a member of Council's Professional Standards Committee.
Dr Ben Davidson (elected veterinary member)
Ben has been a mixed/large animal practitioner for 16 years. He has been a director of the Rangiora Vet Centre for 14 years, where his focus is on future proofing the business and providing veterinary services to clients.
Ben's interest in governance and leadership started at Massey, where he was MUVSA President. He spent seven years on the NZVA Sheep and Beef SIB, including two as President. During this time he worked to improve communication and introduce formal strategic planning.
Ben was elected to Council in December 2016. He was previously a member of Council's Complaints Assessment Committee.
Dr Rachel Gebbie (elected veterinary member)
Rachel graduated from Massey in 2008. She completed an internship at Massey University and has spent several years in small animal practice around the country. She is a member of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists in Small Animal Medicine.
Rachel is a committee member for the Auckland Veterinary Society and the innovative "NZ Women in Veterinary – Essential Solutions" group, a group supporting female veterinarians through providing mentorship, business and leadership advice and emotional support.
Rachel is passionate about creating a sustainable future for vets in NZ. Rachel was elected to Council in December 2016.
Ms Sue Ineson (Ministerial non-veterinary appointee)
Sue is one of the two non-veterinary members of Council. Sue first became involved with Council in 2007 as a consultant when she assisted with strategic and business planning, risk assessment and governance issues. Sue was appointed to Council by the Minister as a lay (non-professional) member in 2012, and was re-appointed in 2015 for another three years.
Sue has been interested in professional regulation for over 15 years. She was previously the CEO of the Medical Council of New Zealand and she is very aware of the importance of professional regulation. Sue also serves on the Osteopathic Council of New Zealand; provides executive support to the Council of Medical Colleges; and as a lay member she assists several other boards with complaints investigations and competence reviews of their professionals.
Sue chairs Council's Finance and Risk Committee and is a member of Council's Registration and Recency of Practice Advisory Groups.
Sue lives in Te Horo on a ten acre block with her husband, dog and too many rabbits! She has two adult children and one granddaughter.
Ms Jane Smith (Ministerial non-veterinary appointee)
Jane was appointed as a non-veterinary member of Council by the Minister for Primary Industries in January 2016.
Jane brings experience in rural servicing, farming, red meat, and strategic decision making.
Jane lives with her husband and three young children in North Otago, where they own and manage a sheep, beef and dairy support operation. Jane and her husband Blair own Newhaven Perendales, a leading New Zealand Perendale Sheep Stud operation, which is involved in breeding and marketing elite meat and wool genetics in New Zealand and Australia. Jane is also a director and shareholder of a large beef genetics operation - Fossil Creek Angus Limited.
Jane's career has included work in the fertiliser industry and rural banking. She is an independent director on the Red Meat Profit Partnership board, and is a member of the Institute of Directors New Zealand, Perendale Sheep Society of New Zealand, and North Otago Sustainable Land Management along with numerous community roles, including a Justice of the Peace.
Jane is a member of Council's Judicial (disciplinary) Committee. Her membership fulfils the requirement (under the Veterinarians Act 2005) for Council's Judicial Committee to include a layperson and a Council member.
Dr Nick Twyford (elected veterinary member and Chair)
Nick is a full time companion animal clinician and Director of Franklin Vets in Auckland. Nick achieved Australian College membership in 1989. He was a member of the Companion Animal Society (CAS) Executive when it was Auckland based and he was involved in developing the early CAS clinic and hospital standards.
Nick first became involved with Council when he joined a Complaints Assessment Committee (CAC) in 1996. Nick has a strong interest in the professional standards area and he played a major role in the revision of the Code of Professional Conduct for Veterinarians in 2011.
Nick was first elected to Council in 2010, and was re-elected in 2013. Nick has been Chair of Council since 2015. He also chairs Council's Professional Standards Committee, and is the Council's representative on the Australasian Veterinary Boards Council (AVBC).
Nick is married to Kaye and has two daughters.
Dr Jenny Weston (Academic Programme Director of the undergraduate veterinary programme at Massey University)
Jenny Weston is the Dean of Veterinary Sciences at Massey University. Jenny graduated from Massey in 1994 and worked in clinical practice (mainly dairy) in Taranaki for 8 years before returning to Massey to run the Farm Services Clinic for ten years. She then coordinated the final year clinical rosters for the BVSc students for several years before her appointment as Associate Dean (BVSc) in 2015 and then Dean in May 2016.
Jenny also earned a Bachelor of Philosophy during her undergraduate training at Massey. Since her return to Massey she has undertaken further education in veterinary epidemiology (leading to Membership of the ANZCVS) and then a PhD on diagnosis and control of Neospora caninum abortion in cattle. More recently she has completed a Postgraduate Diploma in Educational Administration and Leadership.
Jenny has been on the Executive of the Dairy Cattle Veterinarians Branch of the New Zealand Veterinary Association since 1997 and is the Immediate Past-President. She was a member of the New Zealand Veterinary Association Board for 6 years, including one term as President.
Jenny is a member of Council's Recency of Practice and Registration Advisory Groups, and represents New Zealand on the Veterinary Schools Accreditation Advisory Committee (VSAAC), which accredits veterinary schools in Australia and New Zealand.
Jenny's interests include endurance riding, breeding Scottish highland cattle, travel, and tramping. She lives on a lifestyle block at Ashhurst with her husband and a menagerie of mammals.

For more information about Council staff, click here.